Director Edwin van Houten

Edwin van Houten

Director of Consumer Department

Mr. Van Houten, M.A. in anthropology, has been director of ACM’s Consumer Department since January 2019. Between 2015 and 2019, Mr. Van Houten was Head of the Department of Care for people with disabilities, asylum seekers and detainees at the Health and Youth Care Inspectorate (IGJ). Prior to that, he worked in various positions at the Immigration and Naturalisation Service (IND), which falls under the Dutch Ministry of Justice and Security (J&V).

Directeur Michiel Denkers

Michiel Denkers

Competition Department

Mr. Denkers, M.A. in economics, worked at the Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) between 2002 and 2015. During the last seven years at AFM, he was Head of the Financial Institutions Supervision Group. Prior to that, he worked at PwC and Barclays, among other firms. He has been director of ACM’s Competition Department since July 2015.

Directeur Monique van Oers

Monique van Oers

Legal Department

Ms. Van Oers, LL.M. with a master’s degree in Public Administration, has a professional background as a lawyer. She worked for the Netherlands Competition Authority (NMa) between 1999 and 2013, and was director of the NMa’s Legal Department between 2005 and 2013. She has been director of ACM’s Legal Department since April 2013.

Director Theon van Dijk

Theon van Dijk

Office of the Chief Economist/ACM Academy

Mr. Van Dijk, Ph.D. in Economics, has been ACM’s Chief Economist since October 2019. He is in charge of ACM’s Office of the Chief Economist and the ACM Academy. Prior to that, he worked for different international economic consulting firms in London and Brussels. Between 2013 and 2015, he was the Chief Economist of the European Patent Office in Munich.

Directeur Remko Bos

Remko Bos

Energy Department

Mr. Bos, M.Sc. in economics, has been director of ACM’s Energy Department since April 2013. He held various positions at the Netherlands Independent Post and Telecommunications Authority (OPTA) between 2005 and 2013: first, as head of the Markets Department, and then as head of the Consumers, Numbers and Chair’s Office Department. He had previously worked at, among other organizations, the Dutch Ministry of Economic Affairs, and the Netherlands Competition Authority (NMa).

Tjeerd Veenstra

Tjeerd Veenstra

Corporate Services Department

Mr. Veenstra, M.A. in public administration, has worked at ACM since April 1, 2015. Prior to joining ACM, he worked at the Dutch Ministry of Economic Affairs for more than 15 years. At the Ministry, he held several positions, the most recent one being HR Director.

Directeur Bart Broers

Bart Broers

Healthcare Department

Mr. Broers, MBA and a PhD degree in physics, has been the director of ACM’s Health Care Department since 2018. After working for seven years at Shell, he joined the Netherlands Competition Authority (NMa) in 2002. He led the antitrust investigations into the construction sector, and laid the foundations for ACM. From 2012, he led two major reorganizations at VU University Amsterdam and the University of Amsterdam. Between 2015 and 2018, he was the head of ACM’s Health Care Taskforce, which was reorganized into a department in early-2018.

Annemarie Sipkes

Annemarie Sipkes

Telecommunications, Transport and Postal Services Department

Ms. Sipkes, economics, has been director of ACM’s Telecommunications, Transport and Postal Services Department since April 2018. From 2012 until 2018, Ms. Sipkes was director of Knowledge and Strategy at the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science. Prior to that, she worked at the Ministry of Social Affairs and Employment as Head of Financial-Economic Affairs, as well as at the Dutch central bank (DNB) and accountancy firm KPMG.

Hélène Borburgh

Hélène Borburgh

Policy and Communications Department

Ms. Borburgh, LL.M., has been director of ACM’s Policy and Communications Department since September 2020. Before joining ACM, she served as deputy director of Corporate Services, Organisation and Information (BOI) at the Dutch Ministry of Infrastructure and Water Management. She was also the head of the Team on Governance of Independent Organizations (GoZO). Prior to that, Ms. Borburgh held various positions, including head of department at the Dutch Ministry of Finance, and at the Netherlands Competition Authority (NMa).